costumes


My niece, Jill, is having a costume ball for her “sweet 16” birthday party.  I have until the 20th to make 6 costumes!  I spent last week going to different fabric stores to get all the fabric. I feel so inexperienced when it comes to making costumes.  I don’t quite know where to begin.  On the other hand, if I was making a baby outfit I would have no trouble. 

I’ve figured out my plan for the costumes now. They are as follows:

Shawn: pattern is Butterick 4574, view A shirt and vest. He’ll wear his own dress pants with it.  The vest fabric is a deep purple, embossed velveteen.  the contrast fabric is a brown cotton that I’ll iron little gold studs on.  The shirt will be a white linen/cotton blend.

Mine: pattern is Butterick 6194, view B without the apron and hat.  Skirt will be same fabric as Shawn’s vest. (matching! how cute!)  Vest is a brownish purple brocade with gold design all over.  Shirt fabric is same as Shawn’s.

Sarah: McCall’s 4246. I’m using a deep purple silk dupioni for skirt and silvery purple with gold and white floral brocade for top. The floatty part of sleeve will be gold silk dupioni

Allyson: Simplicity 9836. View C underdress made with a cream and silver pinstriped dotted swiss so it will be nice and cool.  Vest is an adaption of view a & b, but with the ruffle longated to the ankles, using a gold brocade with metalic gold floral.  I imagine the metalic part wil be scratchy but Allyson said she doesn’t care.  It will look pretty and I guess that’s what really matters!

Samantha: Simplicity 8953 She wants view A with the gauntlets on her arms.  It’s going to be so hot though, she might change her mind.  The underskirt will be a white with pale pink pinstriped lightweight cotton that has tiny clusters of red embroidered roses scattered all over.  The overdress will be a silk dupioni that’s pink & green woven together (it’s much prettier than I’m describing it). This dress is perfect for Samantha since her middle name is Rose!

Felicity: Simplicity 0503 view B dress (she loves it because it’s pink!) I’m using fushia pink silk dupioni which will clash with her red hair,  but she’s in love with the color so  that’s what I’m using.  The colar will be a pale gold sequined fabric and then gold trim where it’s needed. 

As you can see, I have a LOT of work ahead of me!

UPDATE:  I decided to put these costumes on the back burner for now and get them done for Halloween, or even wait until closer to the Renaissance Festival.  For this party, the girls will wear costumes we already have.

 

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in costumes, project ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

