Heirloom baby dresses


 

 

 

These dresses are great for bringing baby home from the hospital! They also make wonderful shower gifts and would be a beautiful “first portrait” dress. They are all size 0-6 months but I can also make them in 6-12 months, Except for “washable silk newborn dress”  which is only newborn sized.

Maggie’s dress

A peach dress with ivory french lace and hand embroidered floral design for good friends of ours.

Sweet Maggie

Washable silk newborn dress

I started making this dress to bring my 4th baby girl home from the hospital.  I ran out of time before I could get the lace sewn on,  but I did finish it a month later so Felicity was able to wear it a few times before she outgrew it.

cream washable silk with vintage french lace. hand embroidery is yellow french knot flowers and mint green vines.

 

like so many dresses, I never took a picture so I had the doll be a model but then people thought it was a doll dress.  I then used my friend’s baby for my model. Thanks Rebekah!

 

Shower gift

Emily, my friend that I do boutiques with, bought this as a shower gift for one of her friends.  What a lucky friend!

pink imperial batiste, white french lace, hand embroidered floral design in pink and spring green.

Melanie’s lavender dress

Shawn’s friend Brenna, from High school, had a baby girl.  The family came to town for a sister’s wedding so I made them this beautiful dress and a matching blanket.  I got it to them in time to open it at the wedding luncheon.  I heard that there was lots of “oohs”  and “Ahhh’s”  over the dress!  Melanie has outgrown the dress and it has been passed on to another family.  How lucky for that baby!

lavender imperial batiste, white  hand embroidered floral design , and white french lace

Twins!

My cousin had twins.  I couldn’t resist making these matching dresses for the baby shower!

pink imperial batiste, white hand embroidered floral design, and white french lace

Brynlee and Ava…what a pretty pair!

Kierston’s dress

I made this pretty pink dress and blanket to match for one of my best friends.

pink imperial batiste, white lace, white hand embroidered floral design on sleeves and center front.

Kierston, home from the hospital

  

8 month’s old

 

Lucia’s Christmas dress

This is one of my favorites!

One of Beth’s (my big sister) best friends had a baby girl right before Christmas and this dress is what I came up with for her to give to them.

white imperial batiste and french lace.  hand embroidered red bullion roses, greenery, and a white mistletoe embroidery design that was inspired by a piece of Christmas fabric I have.

 

Lucia, the best present under the tree.

beautiful Lucia

   

Poinsettia dress

Another one of my favorites!  I love the red and yellow embroidery.

 

I sold this one at a boutique so I don’t have a picture of the baby.  If anyone knows the owner of this dress, please have them send me a picture!

off-white imperial batiste and french lace.  hand embroidered floral design of red poinsettias and white poinsettias with yellow centers, and green leaf/vines.  Although this embridery was intended to look like poinsettias, it doesn’t really scream “Christmas!”  and could be worn year round.

Slip

I’ve made a matching slip to go with most of these dresses.  I used imperial batiste (same color as dress) and hand embroidered a small amount of floral embroidery at the neck with tiny french lace on the hem. buttons on the shoulders for easy undressing.

My model, Jada

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in baby dresses, Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heirloom baby dresses

  1. Crystal says:

    This one is my favorite dress and model of course. 🙂
    Really, your work is so incredible. I’m going to have to start saving for something special for my girls.

  2. Jenny says:

    I LOVE the dresses that you made for my twins! They looked so precious in them and now it’s fun to look back at them and remember how tiny they were. They grow so fast! 🙂 All of your items are exquisite. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

