Blessing/Christening dresses


Alexandria’s dress

Hanne, my sister, had a little girl after 3 boys.  We all were quite excited about it and I got started on the blessing dress ideas as soon as Hanne found out she was having a girl.   I had so much fun making this dress!  The silk was so luxurious that I got carried away and made it into a Christening gown length! This dress is a true heirloom.

Silk twill fabric. hand smocked across front and hand embroidered billion roses across smocking; french knots and pintucks on entire bodice; lace on neck, sleeves, and hem; scalloped pintuck and hand embroidered bullion roses on hemline.

(to see better pictures of this dress, see my Alexandria’s Gown post! 8) )

bodice and sleeves

Hem close up

How beautiful!

Alexandria in her beautiful long gown.

It’s a GIRL!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Payton’s blessing dress

Some friend’s of ours adopted a little girl from Russia.  They didn’t get to bring her home until she was 18 months old (which is normal for Russian adoptions) so they needed a white dress in a bigger size than the usual 3 months for LDS families.  I was honored to be part of their special day.

white muslin hand smocked dress with bullion roses across front and emboidery on puffed sleeves, and white lace on hem. all embroidery done by hand.

buttons down back for easy changing

close up of bodice…see the Russian featherstitching going down very center of bodice?

sleeve embroidery

Payton looks so pretty!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ruby’s dress

My aunt, Melisa, bought this for her granddaughter, Ruby.  I gave her a great discount on the price because she gave me the smocked dress pattern she used for her first daughter’s blessing dress. I felt so honored!

Eyelet batiste dress with attached slip and eyelet bloomers.  hand done Smocking on center front and hand embroidered bullion rose design. 

close up of the smocking and embroidery

Julie holding baby Ruby

Jada looks stunning in the same dress her sister wore

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Eyelet dress with smocked center

I made this dress for Felicity .  It’s sweet and simple , yet with the smocking and bullion roses on the center bodice and sleeves (done by hand) , it would be suitable for a blessing dress.  

the back has hand embroidered bullion rosebuds on the buttons because people always see the back of the dress

Felicity

 

To see more of the Blessing/Christening dresses I’ve made, click on this: GIRL Blessing/Christening/ Dedication/baby Baptism

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in GIRL Blessing/Christening/ Dedication/baby Baptism. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blessing/Christening dresses

  1. Marnee Donaldson says:

    That silk dress is breathtaking and the eyelet batiste dress is gorgeous. Too bad babies don’t realize how beautiful they are.

Leave a Reply

