Halloween costumes


2005 Sarah wanted to be a pokemon trainer. I made a red embossed crushed velvet skirt. For the shirt (and to make it obvious the costume was about pokemon) I printed a pokeball onto iron-on transfer paper and ironed it onto a t-shirt.  Here’s the pokeball I used   http://pokemon430.tripod.com/pokeball.jpg (copy and paste the link to get to the picture).  Sarah added a backpack, funky hairdo, a bandanna, and her pikachu, and there you go! An instant pokemon trainer!  

2005. Allyson insisted on me making her Halloween costume instead of being the usual Disney princess.  I used the witch pattern from McCall’s 4946, making both the cape and the hat .  I found some awesome black fabric with black moons and stars…very witchy!

 

2006.  Sarah had been wanting a blue “Sleeping Beauty” princess dress for a long time but Disney doesn’t sell costumes for the preteen sizes.  So I used Simplicity 5042 view C without the puffy fabric on the skirt. ( I thought it looked too colonial with it) I then sewed the silver lace going down the skirt so it looked more like a princess.  I was sorry that it wasn’t sleeping beauty, but what could I do when pattern companies do not even make the pattern in preteen sises? In fact, none of them make many costume patterns for the sizes between 8 yearsold and women sized 8.  Come on!  Don’t they know kids age 9-16 go to costume parties and  Renaissance festivals?  Well, at least I found this pattern  but I don’t want to adjust every costume pattern I buy to fit my preteens!

2006.  Allyson had gone to the Cheetah Girl concert so she wanted to be a cheetah for Halloween.  I used Simplicity 4037. I used the longest version of the dress, completely lined the entire thing (cheetah lace was too itchy plus it looked better with lined sleeves), and left off the tie belt.  She wore black knit capris under the dress and ears from PBKids.

2006.  Samantha’s witch costume was made out of a black 3tierd gauze skirt of mine that got ripped beyond repair.  I used a peasant shirt pattern and made it long for a dress.  It was fun to see how it turned out! We borrowed the hat.

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in costumes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

