the perfect shower gift


About 3 years ago, two of the teachers at my kids’ school were pregnant, and due the same month!  So all the families of kids that go there, got together for a surprise joint babyshower.  What fun!

I made each of them an heirloom blanket, dress, and bonnet for baby to wear home from the hospital.  I used the same pattern for these little dresses, and made them unique by using different color fabric and lace, and different embroidery designs.  I had my daughter (5 years old at the time) ask Nikki and Kindra what their favorite color was so I could make their gift be that color.  It snowballed into all the kids in the class having a discussion about favorite colors! How cute is that!

Nikki’s favorite color is peach, so her gift set is peach with off-white french laces, hand done embroidery, and eyelet bonnet. (size: infant)

Haeley looks so sweet in her heirloom dress!  (notice that she likes to lay down on her heirloom blanket)

Kindra’s favorite color is yellow, so guess why I chose yellow!  Her heirloom gift set is yellow imperial batiste with white laces, hand embroidery, and eyelet bonnet.  (size: infant)

Macy Hazel sleeps peacefully on her heirloom blanket, in her pretty yellow dress.

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in Baby Accessories, baby dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the perfect shower gift

  1. Heidi says:

    I went over to Missy’s to pick up a blanket for my friend who just had a baby and I got to see these dresses that she makes in person. The hand embroidery is exquisite! They are beautiful dresses. I personally think that handmade items like this are a treasure. They are sweet and simply lovely.

Leave a Reply

