Felicity’s blessing dress


 

 Felicity is my youngest of four daughters.  When I had her, I knew I had to make her blessing dress.  Even though I have this wonderful talent, I can’t seem to function when I get pregnant.  Which also means I don’t feel like sewing.   Well, with Felicity, I decided that if I wanted my baby to have special handmade clothes, I had to just DO IT!   So after spending weeks pouring over all my hundreds of patterns I decided what I’d make.

  Early in the afternoon, the day before the blessing, I finished the dress and decided to soak it for a little while to get the dress nice and clean. just a note… NEVER SOAK HEIRLOOM CLOTHES IN A SOLUTION OF OXYCLEAN BEFORE YOU RINSE THE BLUE MARKS FROM A BLUE SEWING MARKER OUT OF THE FABRIC FIRST!  IT WILL TURN THE BLUE MARKS DARK BROWN!!!  Needless to say, I had ruined the dress!  I of coarse started bawling (all those post baby hormones),  then I called Beth to tell me what to do,  then I looked up info on the internet which didn’t tell me how to fix the problem, then I decided to soak the dress in hydrogen peroxide.  I figured the dress was ruined anyway, and the embroidery was faded from the oxywash, so what did I have to loose?  As the dress soaked overnight, I made my family go to bed so I could start making a backup dress.  I used a different pattern that I knew I could get done fast, but It wasn’t fast enough and I gave up by 4:00 in the morning because I was seeing crosseyed by then.  I got 3 hours of sleep before I HAD to get up and get ready to go.    When the dress was dried,  the brown marks had faded enough that it just looked like an antique dress. Whew!  but that’s not the end if this story.  We were having a double  baby blessing at my parent’s house. (Beth, my sister, had a baby girl exactly a month after Felicity was born)  We had just turned into my parent’s neighborhood when I suddenly remembered that in the rush of things, I left the bonnet at home! Then the tears came all over again!  We did NOT go back for the bonnet which was fine in the end because it was a hot August day in Gilbert, Arizona.

Dress made of silk dupioni.  tiny swiss edging on sleeves and collar, french laces on hem,  hand smocked on center front, hand embroidered bullion roses and leavs on collar, smocking, hem, and between buttonholes going down back of dress using silk embroidery floss.

Felicity Louise

the blessing day.

 

cousins Felicity and Elsa

To see more of the Blessing/Christening dresses I’ve made, click on this: GIRL Blessing/Christening/ Dedication/baby Baptism 

* This dress is an example of what I can make. For prices, please visit my Prices page.   If you are interested in having me custom make one for you, or looking for something specific, please contact me at missy@fairychildheirlooms.com or 480-216-4737.

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in GIRL Blessing/Christening/ Dedication/baby Baptism. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Felicity’s blessing dress

  1. Mom says:

    Beautiful story as well as beautiful dress, beautiful baby and beautiful Mommy and Daddy. Isn’t it funny how sometimes things that seem so challenging and disappointing turn out to actually be something so wonderful!

Leave a Reply

