Melissa’s baby shower gifts


 

I went to my sis-in-law’s baby shower today.  The  baby shower was so fun with lots of visiting, just a couple of cute games to keep things moving, and the yummiest lunch made by her mother!  (My favorites were the salsa, and the carrot cake.  I need those recipes!)

 the games   1- clothespin game: you get a clothespin when you arrive. you get to take someone’s clothespin if they cross their legs or arms. the person with the most clothespins wins! 

2- how big is the mama’s belly?: everyone guesses how big the pregnant belly is by cutting a piece of ribbon that size.  The person that guesses the closest wins!

3- baby item memory: a tray with items that have to do with baby gets passed around, then without looking everyone have to write as many down as they can in one minute. The person with the most items written down wins!

  When Melissa told me she loves red, I couldn’t wait to make all these cute things for her!  As you can see, I had a lot of fun shopping for pretty red fabrics.  I finished the smocking on the little bubble romper while Melissa opened her tower of presents.  (whew!  just in time!)  I can’t wait to see my new niece wearing the romper! 

Heirloom blanket made of red imperial batiste with white rayon lace trim;  Flannel blanket: red on one side, white with red rosebuds on the other side;  flannel burp pads: one is just like flannel blanket, the other is red on both sides with scallops stitched in white along the edge;  paci/toy holder in the little bag.

Last , but not least:  red sailor style hand smocked romper with white collar that has french cotton lace around edge and hand embroidered bullion roses & shadow bow design.  white french cotton lace cuffs, little heart glass pearl buttons down the front, and elastic leg openings with snaps on crotch for easy diaper changes.  I made this bubble in a size NB-3 month.  My pattern has sizes NB-18 months included.

close-up of front

back of romper

close-up of embroidery on back of collar

* This romper, blankets, burp pads, and paci/toy holder are all examples of what I can make.  For prices, please visit my Prices page.  To see what I have available, visit my shop.  This set, or one similar, would make a great group gift!  If you are interested in having me custom make one for you, or looking for something specific, please contact me at missy@fairychildheirlooms.com or 480-216-4737.

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in Baby Accessories, baby dresses, baby girl. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Melissa’s baby shower gifts

  1. Baby Shower says:

    Beautiful romper I just love the embroidery details. I also think the heart shaped silver buttons are percious.

    What kind of baby shower games did you play? They are always my favorite part of any baby shower.

    I also like the red themed gifts. What a great idea to include a color theme (other than blue or pink) through out the gifts you gave.

    You do beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

