Fairy Tale Swap…Wizard of Oz Swap…and more!


 I have joined up with some MARVELOUS crafters and sewers out in the blogger world of swaps!  Doing swaps are going to encourage me to use my creativity in a fun and interesting way.  I’ll keep you posted as I send these “goodies” away to their new homes! 

Thanks to all the hosts of these fun swaps!  click on the pictures to take you to the host blog, or the link under “swaps I’m part of” category to the right.

 Fairy Tale SwapMy first swap!!!   My partner to swap with is  Lindsey in the UK (blog is ethel and edna) .  She’s going to  make something for me that has to do with “Sleeping Beauty”, and I’m making hers from “Hansel & Gretel”!!!   I just LOVE fairy tales, and am so glad I got in on this swap! (swap date end of August)

Update:  due to me getting sick with a bad cold, and Lindsey’s little girl needing lots of extra attention right before school started up again,  we decided together to push back the mail out date to September 15th. (sorry Apryl!  I know you worked really hard at hosting this wonderful swap!!!)  we also decided to add a mermaid to our swap!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Another new swap<swap date Aug 29> swap partner is Jennifer in Alaska, her blog is Diamonds, fur and laundry

I’ll make an apron, potholder, and trick-or-treat bag (with treats inside!)  I can’t say yet what the stuff will look like, but I just got some great fabric for it!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sign Up Now!  Sign up by September 1st. Mail out by September 15th.    

I get to make one 18″doll outfit, and one 16″ doll outfit!

this doll swap will only require you to make 2 outfits, (one outfit each for two different people)  Let her know if you prefer Bitty baby, or size small doll clothes instead of the 18″doll. For more info, visit the site.   Doesn’t this sound fun??  I just might host my own doll clothing swap sometime!  I always enjoy making doll clothes.  8)

I got my swap partners!  I get the honor of making an 18″ doll outfit for Susannah, the host of the swap!  And the 16″ doll outfit for Jenna Z‘s  Fisher Price My Friend dolls from the eighties. you can find her at CorgiPants  and she’s the gal that put together SwapDex an index of swaps (where I find most of the swaps I do.)

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

 Wizard of OZ <swap date September 16>  swap partner is Kathleen  in CA.  She is an amazing quilter! We will be swapping one hand made item and include some goodies.  I already have my ideas all figured out!

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Swaps I have joined<swap date Sept.20> swap partner Jaime in New York.  her blog is Life’s A Beach…

The Rules:handmake at least one main item then the rest can be somebody else made/storebought be generous (with the gifties, not necessarily the price/cost), thrifting is good, as is regifting if it fits the theme  AND you have to include a handwritten strawberry recipe on a card. I just LOVE strawberries!  Allyson and I think it would be so fun to have a store that is devoted (entirely) to everything strawberry.  but that dream has to wait until Allyson grows up and can help me run a place like that!! (he he!)

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 <swap date: Sept. 22> partner is Kitty in western PA. her blog is Reflections from the Stone Nest

swap  something Halloween with a “vintage feel”.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 Wicked Witch Switch<swap date Oct.1>  swap partner is Angela Harris in Missouri. her blog is http://yourangil.blogspot.com/ 

This is a witch themed swap so  I’ll give a witch and then some Halloween goodies for good measure.
so much fun!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

Chookyblue\ <Swap November 11> 

  • Don’t tell anyone who your swap partner is please. This is a secret swap shhhhhhhhh!!!!!! A different person will be sending to you……….
  • You can make whatever you want eg., bag, wall hanging, softies, stitchery, table runner – whatever it is you love to make………send something you would love to receive…..
  • Doesn’t this sound fun?   I have a couple ideas but can’t talk about it until after the swap.  I know who I’m sending this to, but you’ll get no clues out of me!!!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    All this swapping reminds me…

    Is anyone interested in a “swap what I do for what you do” ? Let me know by leaving a comment on this post.

    here’s a few swaps I’ve done in the past with friends and one of my sisters: 

     *I made two outfits and a dolly Quilt for  3 weeks of summer school for my daughter. (one item for each week)

    *I made two doll outfits for a loaf of homemade bread, and a bag of 24 homemade rolls. 

    *swapped sewing skills (she bought fabric) for kids to take swim lessons during the summer.

    *sewed and embroidered Christmas baby dress for dog shots, and 2 doll sundresses

    *one flannel blanket for a haircut.

    *swapped sewing skills (25 peasant style costume blouses for the concert) for  singing lessons for Sarah & Allyson.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Here’s a few thing I need right away that I’d be interested in swapping FOR: things that will grab peoples attention and say “Hey! I sew handmade heirlooms!” but play with my “fairy child heirlooms” theme

    * customized professional business cards

    * blog banner and background

    * website design

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    About Missy

    I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
    This entry was posted in swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

    3 Responses to Fairy Tale Swap…Wizard of Oz Swap…and more!

    1. Chookyblue says:

      your in a few different swap I have not seen around blogland…….except mine of course………..have fun they sound great………

    2. Katy says:

      I love bartering as well. I’ve bartered for massages, time with a piano accompanist, babysitting, etc.

      I’ve enjoyed looking at your blog. It’s nice (and rare) to find someone who is interested in heirloom sewing!

      Katy

    3. Ha 🙂 You are addicted to Swaps as I am. I can’t wait to send you your witch package. It’s great because you have such an appreciation for details.

    Leave a Reply

    