Every little girl needs a pretty white dress


I love white dresses.  I think every girl needs a white dress no mater what her age.  White symbolizes purity, so it’s no wonder it is the color of choice for so many important occasions in a girl’s life…baby blessings, dedications, Christenings, baptisms, first communions, weddings, and so many other occasions

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Eyelet dropped waist dress

I made this dress when Allyson turned 6 (2003).  When she had her birthday party, she just wore the pink underslip, and then she wore the eyelet dress on top for her Easter dress a couple weeks later.  (Pattern in sizes 4-12, would make a stunning  baptism dress for a child)

 

                                        

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

white eyelet sundress

Eyelet sundresses are so practical.  They are nice and cool for summer days when the kids can play in them and still look nice if you need to go somewhere.  Then when the weather cools down, they can throw a sweater over it and not be too hot. (kids always seem to get hot) and they are perfect for any family vacation!

Sarah age 5,  Allyson age 2 (1999)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sarah’s flower girl dress

Sarah wore this when my sister Hanne got married.  I know it’s not white, but I couldn’t resist putting such a pretty dress on this post.

Sarah age 3 years (1997).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 Smocked Heart dress 1997

I made this pretty dress for Sarah to wear on Allyson’s blessing day (1997).  It got dirty the minute we got home, so she had to change into a different dress for the family party.  Always have a backup for special occasions! 

Hand smocked with green rayon embroidery thread.  Heart hand embroidered with variegated silk ribbon.

Sarah age 3

* These dresses are an example of what I can make.  If you are interested in having me custom make one for you, or looking for something specific, please contact me missy@fairychildheirlooms.com or 480-216-4737

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in baptism dresses (8 year old), little girl (3-6 year). Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Every little girl needs a pretty white dress

  1. Ava says:

    I agree with your point!! My baby too like to wear unique dresses on her birthday!!

Leave a Reply

