Christmas Dresses 1994-1999


For several years, I was making two Christmas dresses for my girls : one casual, one fancy. I figured they needed a casual dress to wear to all the parties that go on during December, and a fancy dress for church.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 1994 Sarah’s first Christmas

This fabric is one of my all time favorite Christmas prints with all the old fashioned toys on it.  The brown buttons on the front are antiques that came from my great grandmother’s “Grandma Jo” stash.

Red crushed velvet dress that buttons down front of bodice with ivory lace on hem, and ivory broadcloth pantaloons with ivory lace on ankles.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1997 Allyson’s first Christmas

I made cranberry velvet dresses for my sister Marsie’s wedding in October,  which doubled as Christmas dresses.

 Shawn, Missy, Sarah, and Allyson.

Allyson’s dress

I made up my own silk ribbon embroidery design to use on the round yoke of this dress.   I also made the headband to match all the colors of silk ribbon

Sarah

I used vogue pattern 1754 view c. and used gathered lace for the collar and sleeve cuffs. 

  I made green corduroy jumpers with poinsettia buttons on the shoulders for their “casual” dress.

Allyson

Sarah

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1998 

bodice is dark green suede (the fake stuff) and the skirt fabric is a cute Christmas print from Daisy Kingdom.  I hand smocked all the way around the waist with dark green embroidery floss.  The jumpers slip over their head.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  1999

this was the second time I used Vogue 1754, this time making the collar.  I wanted to go with a fancy, classic look.  I knew that I wanted to make it from green silk, but none of the stores had any.  I ended up buying a funny blue color of raw silk on clearance, and dying it green.

Dress made of raw silk with a red voile overlay on the skirt, cuffs, and collar.

Check out those bows! Could they be any bigger!?  I bought them at a boutique.  They were the only bows I could find with the right color green. ( they look more like a hat to me).

 

* These dresses are an example of what I can make.  If you are interested in having me custom make one for you, or looking for something specific, please contact me missy@fairychildheirlooms.com or 480-216-4737

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in Christmas, little girl (3-6 year), toddler girl. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Dresses 1994-1999

  1. susan says:

    what beautiful dresses, have you kept them all?

Leave a Reply

