Vintage Sheet Fat Quarter Swap


                                                        

So I squeezed in at the last minute to join this swap!  Basically, what I’m to do is cut up vintage sheets into fat quarters (22″ x 18″) .  Each Swapper sends Gail return postage and up to 50 Fat Quarters  that they would like to swap.  After she receives every one’s fat quarters, she will send each swapper an assortment of fat quarters equal to the number they sent her.
 I’m sending Gail 38 fat quarters from 3 different sheets.  I’m planning to make quilts for my two youngest daughters beds with all the pretty fabric I get back.

       (click on pictures to see them enlarged)

Here’s the fat quarters I’m sending.  I bought the first two, and the last one is from my Oma.  She was cleaning out her linen closet a few years ago and I was lucky enough to get it… holes and all!   I had to cut around them because, really, who would want to get a FQ with holes in it!  (not me!!!) 

Look at all my leftovers!  I kept enough fabric from the  two on the bottom so I can make a couple of aprons.

 

And for Jennifer from http://lipstickandlaundry.blogspot.com/ , here’s your sneeky peek at what I’m sending you for our apron swap!  (ha ha!  not much of a peek, huh?  you’ll just have to wait ’till it gets there!) ;o)

 

One more thing… 

Glitter Photos

All four of my daughters and I have joined a  Christmas Stocking Swap!  Each of us will have a different partner to swap a stocking full of fun goodies.  <swap on or before Nov. 18> You can still sign up for this one until September 5th at midnight Pacific time.  You don’t even have to make anything, it can all be storebought if you want. (of course, WE will be making things for this swap…) Go check it out!!!

UPDATE:  the stocking swap is now closed!

our swap partners are:

*Sarah  is swapping with Jessica, age 12, in England       * Allyson is swapping with Amanda, age 10, in  Arkansas    * Samantha is swapping with Sydney, age 8, in Washington   *Felicity is swapping with Katie, age 5, in Arkansas.  

My swap partner is Lisa from Georgia! here’s her blog Mommyof2g1b’s Wonderful World she is a BIG fan of Christmas and snowmen!

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in aprons, project ideas, quilts, swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vintage Sheet Fat Quarter Swap

  1. kris says:

    Hi! I came here via chookyblue and the lightning video! You do some very pretty work!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Oh Missy I can hardly wait to see what goodness awaits me . This sneak if Fab!!

  3. Gail says:

    Thank you so much for posting about the swap. I love your sheets. My children call my mom Oma. My Grandma and her came over from Germany when she was 3 years old! I never knew so many people had Omas 🙂

Leave a Reply

