My little German girls


Every year, my girl’s school celebrates “International Children’s Day” with a program and potluck lunch with food from around the world.  The kids get to dress up like children from another country.  Since we have German blood in us, I made these darling dirndles. (in 2002)

Dress: bodice is black velveteen with ribbon trim sewn down front on either side of buttons/buttonholes  (silver buttons ordered fom internet site that imports stuff made in Germany)  skirt is green velveteen, and apron is made from white eyelet edged fabric with same ribbon trim weaved along hemline and then attached to 3″-4″ wide satin ribbon which ties in a bow at the waist.  Blouses are purchased from Laura Ashley.

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in little girl (3-6 year), toddler girl. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My little German girls

  1. kris says:

    So pretty! Your girls must really enjoy dressing up!

  2. Sherri says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your work is beautiful…so elegant! Have a great day!

  3. Beth says:

    Hey, thanks for commenting on my blog! I love the dresses, so unique and your girls look lovely in them.

  4. MIssy, your so lucky to have so many girls. I have 2 but they are spaced out by 10 years. I had 6 boys and they just aren’t as much fun to dress up cute! Your daughters look so adorable!

    Sherry

Leave a Reply

