Fairies


 

I came home from my in-laws house yesterday and found a shelf that belongs above my sewing machine had fallen.  The shelf had framed pictures of my babies and lots of fairy figurines on it.  Luckily I had scooted my sewing machine back towards the wall so it wasn’t hurt when the shelf fell and neither were the frames, but a lamp and my fairies weren’t so lucky!  I had to superglue them but some pieces were too smashed so they aren’t very sturdy ;o(   

 To those of you who don’t know… I LOVE FAIRIES!  I collect fairy figurines, fabric, scrapbook supplies, books, just about anything I can find that has to do with these magical little people with wings.  This is how my hubby came up with the name Fairy Child Heirlooms for my business!

 A sneek peek at what I’m planning after the new year…  I want to host a fairy swap!    Any thoughts on how I should set up the swap?  What do you think about having small groups of people making a certain amount of fairies and then getting that many back?  Or would you rather have it be the traditional swap partners sending to each other?  Or maybe have it be a secret swap?  What do you think?

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in more about me, swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fairies

  1. lindsayann says:

    Hi Missy
    So sorry to hear about your precious fairies. I hope you were able to repair most of them.
    I think a fairy swap would be fun. Count me in however you decide to set it up.
    Lindsay

  2. ivoryspring says:

    Hi Missy,

    So sorry to hear about the mishap – it made my heart sick seeing the broken fairies. I am sure each one is special to you, and am glad to know that you are able to superglue some of them back together…

  3. AwtemNymf says:

    Fairy Swap *bats eyelashes*. You know I’m am SOOO in if you do host the swap.
    But First- I must say that I’m sooo sorry that your faeries fell and some are irreparable :O( I would have cried. I am crying! *sniffles*
    I am so sorry. How the shelf fall?
    Anyhooty- you did great on the Vintage swap. The pompom gives it a nice touch!
    You’re busy busy busy!!! Me too *winks*
    Have a great day & Happy Creating!
    Hugs

  4. tommy says:

    Oh my! I dont even know where to start because you have so many beautiful things here, but I think the wall hanging is my favorite. Leave it to you to find a way to make fairies fit in so well on such a non-traditionally fairy holiday!

  5. Have you ever seen the movie “How to Make an American Quilt”? There is a lady in the movie who breaks tons of her pretty things in her bedroom after she discovered her husband and her sister had slept together. Anyway, afterwards she gets all the broken pieces of her figurines and stuff that she broke and she makes a mosiac on the wall out of them. It was a beautiful wall and I’ve always wanted to do something like that, although, not for the same reason!! Your broken fairies made me think of that wall.

    A fairy swap sounds like so much fun!! Anyway you decide to do it I would love to be a part of it!

    Have a great day!
    Sherry

Leave a Reply

