Very Vintage Halloween Swap


 For the Very Vintage Halloween swap,  the requirement was to swap something with a “vintage feel”  This is what I did for Kitty from western PA. her blog is Reflections from the Stone Nest

A “Happy Halloween” tag set

and a Wall Hanging of Vintage looking children in Halloween costumes.

I appliqued the vintage looking children from Alexander Henry’s “trick-or-treat” line of fabric onto black fabric.  I used 2 layers of iron-on stabelizer between the the appliqued piece and the black backing. Then I sewed black ball fringe around the edge and sewed the finished pieces together with velvet ribbon.  Last, I used glitter to accent the pictures!

 

My Mom and big sister loved this wall hanging so much that they are trading with me to make one for each of them too!  ( I’ll post about it later!)

~~~~~~~~~~Here’s the amazing things Kitty did for me!~~~~~~~~~~

Kitty made a pumpkin lady in a box with vintage sheet music

 DSCN3345 by Reflections From The Stone Nest.

Here’s the pumpkin lady in all her glory! (I used Kitty’s pictures) 

DSCN3348 by Reflections From The Stone Nest.

Halloween Chenille Ornaments (A Bethany Lowe Design)

 

a goody bag filled with fun stuff for the kids!

The kids loved eating their pumpkin-head skeleton suckers! (notice the pumpkin lady in her sheet-music box on the shelf behind the girls!)

 

Thank you to my good friend Heidi Ann for hosting this wonderful swap!

 

and Thank you to Heidi’s daughter Holly @ mommy holly for making these cute tags for all the participants of the swap!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Heidi is hosting another swap! “VERY VINTAGE CHRISTMAS SWAP”!  Go on over and check it out!  Sign up until November 1st, and then will be assigned partners on November 3rd. The boxes should be sent by December 1st, so that everyone can enjoy their lovely holiday surprises!

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Very Vintage Halloween Swap

  1. Jen says:

    I love everything you made and everything you received! Very vintage:)

  2. The things you made are so charming and I love the Halloween Lady you got….everything is wonderful. Glad this swap happened for you.

  3. Kathy says:

    Very sweet items, thank you for sharing them with us.
    Kathy

  4. Susan Hickam says:

    I can see why your family wanted one of those fabric banners themselves-truly wonderful! I think your pumpkin lady is ver vintage looking-what a great gift. Happy Halloween season.

  5. Tracy says:

    So beautiful…everything you made and all you received–very festitve!! I love Halloween…Happy Days :o)

  6. I love the wall hangings you made with the Halloween fabric Missy!! Very cute and clever! My partner made me fabric bowls out of the same fabric. I’m think I need to buy some and make some wall hangings too!!!

    Sherry

  7. susan says:

    oh i love what you made! so clever. i wish i had seen that fabric somewhere…so sweet. that was lovely what you recieved too, such a good swap. and stop with telling us about these great swaps!!! i dont know that i can hold out!!!

Leave a Reply

