Halloween Flight Swap


I had so many ideas for this swap but ran out of time.  This was the first time I made an ATC card or a jointed paper doll.  I got the idea of making a paper doll for the Wicked Witch Switch   from this swap!

for this swap, we were to make an ATC, a Halloween flying thing, and a jointed paper doll. you will see from these pictures that I got a little carried away… it was just too much fun!!!

This is the first ever ATC that I made!  My swap partner, Amy, loves ‘The Raven’ by Edgar Allan Poe.  I tried to make the ATC with that in mind. 

I made three ‘flying things’ even though the swap only said to make one.

the first one is a glittered BOO with a glittered owl glued on.

the second one is this vintage looking wall hanging made with an appliqued picture of children in costumes (the little girl is a witch cat with a broomstick which means that she flies around.)  It’s from an Alexander Henry fabric.  you can’t see very well from the picture, but I sewed pom-pom fringe around the edge.  I also glittered accents on the picture!

The third ‘flier’ is this little hanging picture of a bird.  I printed the picture from The Vintage Moth.. onto iron on computer paper, and then ironed it onto white muslin. I sewed padding inside, and then black lace around the edge.

For the paper doll, You can see that I couldn’t stop at just one!  I went to http://www.theenchantedgallery.com/paperdolls.html and printed out all kinds of things to use.  I made this pretty case for them to live in by using two pieces of fancy (12″x12″) scrapbook paper and gluing it at the seam and sides.

The tags on the doll’s wrist reads “Are you a good witch…”  “…or a bad witch?”

Here’s the ‘Good Witch’…

 

… and the ‘Bad Witch”

put her hand down and realize she’s holding her head!!!

I made the Bad Witch at my sister Beth’s house.  We all had a good laugh over it!  My little Samantha told me I better not give the creepy witch away! I told her I’ll make another one for us!  Gone are the days when my little children were scared of things like this.

 

Since Amy doesn’t have a blog, I wanted to share part of the email she sent me about what she received from me…

What treats!  Where to begin….. GREAT ATC.  Those silvery letters and your raven silhouette were perfect.  …. The Owly B-O-O is sparkling in my dining room…..  Ya know I like the Raven hangy thing….The sweet fabric hangy thing with the embellished children is really sweet, and is my daughter’s favorite item except for maybe….. THE FANTASTIC paper dolls!   Loved the pretty light/dark paper package you housed them in (so perfectly fitting) and the raven feather on top.  Both the Good Witch and Bad Witch are wonderful, so sparkly and fun.  They both sport great skirts, but the bad witch’s removable head in hand is my most favorite thing of all.  So glad you went CREEPY.  …Amy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Amy, my swap partner, is super talented.  I felt like I got the better end of the deal with this swap.  If you want to see all the amazing things she’s made, you can visit her flikr page:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/7866304@N08/

This was Amy’s first time making an ATC, too. 

It came in this envelope she made, being carried by the cutest bat around!

for my flying thing, Amy made this cute owl, and the box it came in!

my paper doll came in this coffin with a poem about her

A couple extra goodies she threw in…

This awesome carved owl family button!

We really enjoyed eating these marshmallow pumpkins!

Thank you so much, Amy!!!!  I absolutely love everything you sent to me!!!!  (it’s as if you’ve been my best friend for years and knew exactly what I ‘d like!)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A BIG thank you to Debra @ HopHopJingleBoo for hosting this incredibly fun swap!

Halloween Flight Swap 
 Debra’s going to host another swap.  On Nov. 1st a New Swap will be announced..

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Halloween Flight Swap

  1. You are just so talented Missy!! I both did a great job on your ATC’s! You both made out great on the swap!!

    Sherry

  2. Beth says:

    Oh my! Your things are amazing! I love the owl on the Boo sign – I want one for mine! You are so creative, Missy!!!!

  3. Denise says:

    WOW!!!! You guys amaze me with your talents! What a fabulous swap partner you had!! And you both did fabulous jobs on all of your super fun swap goodies! LOVE IT ALL!

    Missy,
    I Boo’d you 🙂 Stop by and check it out!
    Denise

  4. AwtemNymf says:

    ohmywings- you know I’m LOVING the owls! Those are awesome! Cute bat too! Both of you did great on your first ATC’s. They’re addicting to make! ANother hobby perhaps? *LOL*
    M- you did fab on your paper doll! Both of you got good swap outs! Woohoo!
    ~A~

  5. peata says:

    what fab projects.
    scrapbook-crazy.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

