Carter Clan Ornament Swap


I’m doing 5 Christmas ornament/decoration swaps this fall.  This is the first one.

angel-ornament-swap

 This swap was a SECRET PARTNERS swap. I sent a handmade ornament to Maudina in Pennsylvania.

This is the angel ornament I made.  I appliqued the fabric with the angel onto the pine branch fabric and then glittered the angel’s wings and candle flames. The angel fabric is Anna Griffin’s Grace Christmas pattern #26710  and it’s a variety of vintage postcards printed onto the fabric.

angel-ornament

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

secret-ornie-swap

In return, my  ornament came from Teresa @ cherrycheckers .  She made a tussie mussie (was used in Victorian times to hold candy or flowers or small gifts…)  which is made of black velvet, lined in gold velvet, and stitched an H (for Hollenbeck) on the front with a hand embroidery around it. To go inside, she made french beaded flowers 4 four-petaled flowers for each of my girls… and 2 five petaled flowers for my husband and I. I love it so much that I’m going to leave this up all year, pinned to my wall.

 tussie-mussie-ornament 

Teresa’s daughter had to get in on the fun too!  Teresa made the little initials for each of us, and her daughter did all of the glittering.

initials-ornaments

 

 

When Teresa found a box of vintage trims, she immediately thought of me and got them hoping I could put them to good use.  I am  thrilled!  I thought I was just getting an ornament and was so surprised to open a box full of things I like!

vintage-trims

Thank you Teresa (and daughter)! I absolutely love everything I received!  er..um…I mean… WE love everything WE received!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you Jo-Anne @ The Carter Clan for hosting this wonderful swap!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m going out of town to visit my sister and celebrate her birthday for a few days so I will announce the winners of My 100th Post!!! giveaway on Sunday.  You can still enter until Saturday night.  Enjoy your day!  Missy 

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Carter Clan Ornament Swap

  1. Tracy says:

    Such fun…sooo many pretty goodies! I’m starting to feel a bit more Christmas-festive now seeing everyone’s treats and what everyone’s making on blogland–LOL! Happy Weekend, Missy ((HUGS))

  2. Your ornaments, both given and received, are gorgeous!!

    Sherry

Leave a Reply

