Fairy Tale Swap


The Fairy Tale Swap was the first swap I signed up for!  We got to choose our favorite fairy tale, and then our partner would make something using our favorite fairy tale as the theme. 

fairy-tale-present1

My sister Beth @ Road To Joy made the card. Isn’t she great?

This is what I did for Lindsey.   I went with the Hansel and Gretel  theme since it’s one of her favorite fairy tales.

fairy-tale-swap

A Hansel and Gretel wall hanging

hansel-gretel-wall-hanging

( Here’s the picture I used )

and a gumdrop bag (self lined) with a pocket

gumdrop-bag

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here’s my ‘Royal Mail’ from Lindsey!

 

I am so overwhelmed by what Lindsey @ ethel and edna  made for me!  I chose for her to make me something with the Sleeping Beauty theme since I had the opportunity to sleep at the REAL Sleeping Beauty Castle (located in Germany) 2 summers ago!  

 © German Fairy Tale Road

The Sleeping Beauty Castle Sababurg

Wander around The Sleeping Beauty Castle Sababurg. At the beginning of the 19th century no one lived in the castle anymore and from then on, as the castle fell into disrepair it became the wild romantic state which the Brothers Grimm describe in their fairy-tale.
.
Lindsey incorporated pictures she found of the castle onto my present!   I lovingly have this book proudly displayed on the shelf above my sewing machine!

Here’s a link to the photos she took before sending it to me. http://www.flickr.com/photos/23202798@N04/sets/72157607429722329

We also did a mermaid swap which I need to finish still, so I’ll show the mermaid pictures when Lindsey receives the one from me!

*************************************************************************************************** 

 Thank you Apryl of Meridian Ariel for hosting such a magical swap! 

(little Red Riding Hood was painted by Apryl… I love it!)

Fairy Tale Swap

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fairy Tale Swap

  1. lindsayann says:

    Loved seeing your beautiful Fairy Tale swap packages. They are all beautiful. What lovely surprises.
    Lindsay

  2. phyllis says:

    What a cute swap that was!

Leave a Reply

