My Ad in the Creative Needle Magazine


I have an ad in the Nov/Dec 2008 (baby) issue of Creative Needle !!!

This is the cover of the magazine I’m in… (my copy arrived in the mail today!)

111208cover

Here’s the page I’m on…

(it’s on page 87, the flip-side to ‘Connecting’ on the last page)

ad-in-creative-needle

here’s my ad up close

 scan 

Imagine my surprise when I was contacted by one of my favorite magazines back in August to see if I would like to place an add in their magazine!  Of coarse I was intrigued, so I called them back to see what it was all about  (and how in the world did they find me!!!)  I was told that they do searches for people like me, and they think my site is the kind of thing their readers would really enjoy.    Then I received an email from Ann Henderson (the actual editor of Creative Needle!) and she said

” I enjoyed seeing your website and blog, especially the photo of your
family. Your girls are beautiful. How fun to sew for them! I also
enjoyed seeing the photo of Bella and Hans. And many thanks for putting
the link to CN on your website.”

I was freaking out (in a good way) because the editor of CN had looked at my stuff and liked it!!!  OK. Just to help you understand this… I have been getting this magazine for the past 12 years ever since my big sister Beth taught me to smock my first baby outfit.

 1stsmocking 1stsmocking2 samantha..1st smocking

So anyway, the moral of this story is that you never know who might be lurking around your blog and what good things may come from it!  Thank you to CN for contacting me!  I always new I would be rich and famous one day!  Well, I’m not exactly rich or  famous  but it IS exciting to have an ad in a magazine!!!!

So to all of you new readers, Welcome to my little creative spot in the world!  Pull up a chair and leave a comment or two letting me know that you have stopped by!

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Ad in the Creative Needle Magazine

  1. Mom says:

    It’s so interesting to think of the possibility of an heirloom dress being passed down by several generations. What a lovely opportunity to have a true heirloom dress or outfit for a baby. Your nieces and nephews are so lucky to receive your carefully handcrafted gifts as are all who choose your exquisite smocked and embroidered heirloom clothes. Love the magazine add. l cannot believe how you’ve taken the talents you use to have as a tiny little girl creating paper doll outfits and now creating works of art for real live children. Love, Mom

  2. Hey Missy !
    Can I have your autograph ;0) !!

    But seriously, congratulations. Your garments are so beautiful. You are such a skilled artisan, in the nearly lost art of delicate hand smocking and embroidery, in this land of mass production. It is wonderfully refreshing to know that so many other people out there are so passionate about craftsmanship in creating beautiful, useful, and “HANDMADE” heirlooms. And your precious girls are so lucky to have a Mom like you, to pass on the tradition, and the appreciation of sewing, smocking, and embroidery.

    And I’m lucky to have made such a wonderful new friend.
    Teresa

  3. AwtemNymf says:

    I am sooo proud and happy for you!
    *jumps up and down*
    I wish you much success and hope that this circulates far & wide for you!

    Your stuff is beautiful and any family would be honored to have an heirloom made by you!
    Hugs!!

  4. lindsayann says:

    Hi Missy
    Your ad looks great. I am sure it will bring you lots of new orders. Your sewing is exquisite. It is so special to have something individually made like you do.
    Best Wishes
    Lindsay

  5. Denise says:

    How very exciting Missy!! Your work is gorgeous and I’m sure you will be up to your elbows in requests for one of your lovely creations!!
    Denise

  6. Susan Hahaj says:

    Good evening, Melissa, I hope your ad is bringing you lots of business success! There is so much detail in your work, it’s a labor of love! I’m having a giveaway, if you haven’t put your name in the pot be sure to stop by! Suzie

Leave a Reply

