Samantha’s Baptism Dress 2008


samantha-and-daddy

My little Samantha Rose was baptized on November 8th.  

samantha-baptism-dress-bodice

 As I was trying to plan what dress I would make, I decided to go through all of my back issues of heirloom sewing magazines to find the free dress patterns in her size. (there were a lot of them because I have been collecting them for 12 years now!)  I then layed about seven of them on the table and asked Samantha what she likes.  What I got from her was “I like this one! No, wait, I like THIS one!  Oh, I want this one!” until she had said “this one” to almost every dress I showed her. 

samantha-baptism-dress-side

You might think I should’ve just made her a dress that I liked and not worried about her picking one.  Well, when it comes to my own kids I tend to want them to have a  part in picking what I’ll make them.  They are all picky about which style they like.  So Samantha ultimately told me that as long as the sleeves are not puffy, she’ll probably like it.  “Probably” wasn’t good enough for me.  I set aside the task and got busy doing lots of craft swaps.  When it was a week before the day of the baptism, I pulled out a few of the patterns again and asked her to pick one.  She wanted NO SMOCKING!!!  Was this MY child talking like this? 

samantha-baptism-dress-back

Samantha picked the ‘Isabelle’s Garden Party’ pattern from Sew Beautiful issue #67 but did NOT like the  crochet tear drops which was fine with me because my crochet skills are very minimal.  As it turned out, I ran out of time to make all the tucks in the skirt too.  But it sure turned out pretty, and Samantha was thrilled with it!

s-baptism-dress

s-baptism-bodice 

s-baptism-bodice-back

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in baptism dresses (8 year old). Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Samantha’s Baptism Dress 2008

  1. I think it turned out beautifully. I love the shirt with all the tucks. It is somehow plain yet fancy all in one with out being “fluffy”.

  2. Tracy says:

    Your Samantha is a beauty, Missy! And so is the dress you make special for her… A true family heirloom if ever there was one! I love all the detail on the top, and sophisticated styling, elaborate but not too ostentatious…very smart for a young lady to choose. Splendid work…and what a labor of love! Just beautiful! Happy Days to you all :o) ((HUGS))

  3. Denise says:

    What a beautiful dress for a beautiful girl! I love her middle name – that is Jillian’s too 🙂

    Enjoy this wonderful, overcast day! Maybe we’ll be fortunate enough for a sprinkle or too!!
    Denise

  4. Lindsay says:

    Samantha looks beautiful in her exquisite dress you made for her. She must have felt so special that day. You are so talented Missy.
    Lindsay

  5. Hi Melissa, just stopping by hoping to get a peek at yours and your partners snowmen from the snowman swap! not seeing any here, so would you please email me pics? vivianneroni@yahoo.com
    thanks!
    oh and.. LOVE the dress you made for your sweet daughters baptism! Youre very talented! I could never sew something that I could wear!
    hope to hear from you soon!
    vivian

  6. AwtemNymf says:

    Beee-a-uuu-ti-fullll dress Missy!!
    Congrats on your Baptism Samantha Rose (lovely name too).
    *sprinkle sprinkle*
    ~A~

  7. Susan Hahaj says:

    How wonderful for your girls to have a mom who can make them a dress to symbolize the important milestones in their lives…just imagine years from now, Melissa, you’ll be thinking of making wedding dresses possibly! Congrats to the whole family! Suzie

Leave a Reply

