Indigo Blue’s Christmas Decoration Swap


One day, I was visiting Chookyblue ( the host of the SSCS swap) and there was a comment by Indigo Blue. She had missed signing up for the swap so I went over to her blog to visit. That’s how we became friends!  When she decided to host her own international Christmas Decoration Swap , I jumped at the chance!

 ginas-present

My partner is Gina @ Fan my Flame (in the UK)

Gina decorates for Christmas in purple and silver colors… so pretty!  I just wasn’t sure what I was going to make for her though.  When the angel ornament arrived from Gina, I knew I need to make something extra special.  well, thank you to whoever you are that did a search for a french knot snowman!  You helped me decide what I was going to do!!! 

I traced a tiny snowman cookie cutter onto the vintage postcard fabric(Anna Griffin: Grace Christmas).  I then hand embroidered a purple hat and scarf using a stem stitch and 2 strands of embroidery floss, and tons of french knots(also called stump work) using two strands of white embroidery floss.  Eyes, mouth, and buttons are french knots using two strands of black embroidery floss. carrot nose is a 9 wrap bullion with two strands of orange embroidery floss.

  french-knot-snowman 

After the embroidery was done, I appliqued the vintage postcard fabric   onto a purple cotton print fabric, sewed the silver ribbon on, and glittered accent snow and the words. There you have it!  a beautiful purple and siver handmade ornament!

 purple-orni

Gina emailed me this morning telling me that the ornament has  pride of place on her side table in her lavender living room and that she loves it!  Woohoo! 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gina made the cute Christmas tree card, and tied the present with red ribbon that has reindeers on it!  What a great job finding out some of my favorite things!

from-gina

Here is the GORGEOUS angel ornament she sent!  I’m going to leave her up year round and call her a  fairy!  Thank you so much Gina!  I absolutely love it!!!

ornament-from-gina

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Swap Flickr Pool 
And thank you Andrea @ Indigo Blue for hosting this wonderful swap! 

And sorry I was late sending ot out!

 

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in Christmas, swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Indigo Blue’s Christmas Decoration Swap

  1. I knew she would love that snowman ornament! I don’t think I could have ever come up with such a lovely ornament in Purple and Silver. You are so crafty!

    Love you,
    Teresa
    but you can call me Peggy

  2. AwtemNymf says:

    CUTE!!! Cute purple & silver (great color combo’s) ornament that you made! I also adore your angel dotee doll ornament! Those are fun to make (dotee dolls)

    Heads up! You have sumfin’ coming in the mail to you on Monday. Tuesday at the latest *whistles* tee hee hee! I hope you likey?!
    Hugs & Faerie Dust!

  3. Suzie Button says:

    Hi! How was your Christmas? I took a blogging break like a lot of bloggers for the past couple weeks, but I’m trying to get back on track! I hope you’re doing well and your heirloom business is doing well. I saw the current magazine for Sew Beautiful, and looked for your ad but didn’t see one. Boy, was there a GORGEOUS pink christening gown in there!!! I am making “designer” baby bedding for my daughter, I don’t think I’ll have time for a christening gown too, but it was amazing! Hope you had a wonderful Holiday Season. Suzie

Leave a Reply

