Fairy Blankets


fairy-blankets-2

This week I finished making two matching flannel fairy blankets.  Angela in the UK contacted me, wondering if I could make her a matching pair of flannel blankets using a fairy print.  , I did a checkerboard design with a coordinating solid lavender flannel since I only had one yard of the fairy print. I used a pretty rosy floral for the backing.  I then did a machine scallop stitch around the edge.

fairy-blanket

I made these cute quilts by cutting the fairy fabric and lavender fabric into fat quarters and then cutting them into quarters  again.  I then sewed 4 pieces (2 fairy, 2 lavender) together to make a block.  After that I sewed all four blocks together. 

four-quilt-blocks

Notice how I did a collapsible seam on all of my corners so the fabric would lay as flat as possible with no bulky bumps in the blanket.

collapsible-seam

I just love how these blankets turned out! 

fairy-blankets-1

speaking of fairies… there’s only a few days left to sign up for either of the  fairy swaps that I’m hosting!  (see the links in my sidebar)

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in Baby Accessories, quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fairy Blankets

  1. These are so sweet Missy!

    Teresa

  2. Mom says:

    I think these are so adorable.

  3. Denise says:

    Missy they are just adorable!!!
    Denise

  4. Hanne says:

    Missy these are so cute! if I have a girl, will you make me one?!

  5. Jude says:

    What gorgeous blankets Missy.
    Jude

  6. Jeanne Gripp says:

    These are just lovely. You are a very good seamstress!

  7. Lindsay says:

    Hi Missy
    Those fairy blankets are beautiful. The different fabrics just look perfect together.
    Best Wishes
    Lindsay

  8. AwtemNymf says:

    Awwwww- those are darling! How I’d love to snuggle up in a sweet flannel FAERIE blanket! I’m sure the lady in the UK will LOVE them and treasure them for years to come. You’re sooo good!
    Hugs & Faerie Dust!

  9. Tracy says:

    Love the fairy fabric! These are sooo sweet, Missy! Great work! Sorry to be so slow visiting…I’ve been very busy with knitting and knitwear orders. But better late than never, eh? ;o) Hope all is well there with you. ((HUGS)) Oh, stop by if you get a chance–I’m having a fun Valentine Giveaway! :o9

  10. Angela UK says:

    Thanks Missy, they look so great. I cannot wait to receive them, they are lovely, thanks so much xxx

  11. Angela UK says:

    I got the blankets this morning, just in time for the snow! They are gorgeous, so soft and the girls love them, I’m sure they will be used for a very long time, thanks again xxx

Leave a Reply

