Family Valentine Swap


sisters

This is my sister Beth and I.  (I’m the one with the glasses)  We decided to have our own little valentine exchange with our two families,  and then have ice-cream sundays for dessert.  Our hubbys were working so it was just us and the kids.

This is what I made for Beth… an altered heart candy box which I put an entire bagfull of Dove dark chocolate hearts inside, a valentine card, and then I made this cute bird using a pattern from the fall 2008 ‘Quilts and more’ magazine.

for-beth

and since Beth has 5 kids where I have 4, I made this cute stuff for her oldest son… an altered heart box filled with candy, a valentine card, and then I bought the matchbox car with the intent to say “My heart races for you valentine!”

for-jesse

Beth and Jesse put together for me… a hanging heart container with chocolates, a sweet card, a heart towel that Beth made from linen and embroidered a heart on it, and the 2 cute scraps of Saffron Craig fairy fabric!

 from-beth-and-jesse

my Sarah made… altered heart box full of candy, card, heart ornament with flower design.

 for-jill

in return, Jill made Sarah… a valentine card with drawing of Sarah and pikachu (Sarah loves pokemon!), a beaded bracelet, and candy.

from-jill

my Allyson made Lucy… altered heart box full of candy, card, wooden plack with heart flower that she painted.

for-lucy

Lucy made Allyson… beautiful card and a tiny sheer bag with tassles containing candy inside.

from-lucy

My Samantha made Robin (Beth’s other son)… altered heart box full of candy, card, and a matchbox car too. 

for-robin

Robin gave Samantha… hanging hearts full of candy, and a blue heart baby that Beth made.

 for-samantha

my Felicity made Elsa… altered heart box full of candy, card, wooden plack with hearts that she painted.

for-elsa

and Elsa gave Felicity… hanging hearts full of candy, and a pink heart baby that Beth made.

for-felicity

Then it was time for I-C-E-C-R-E-A-M!!!!

dessert

Here’s a few pictures of the kids…

kids-2

kids

lucy-and-sarah1

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in crafts, swaps, Valentine. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Family Valentine Swap

  1. That is just the best. Looks like so much fun. Your kids will always remember this day. Handmade gifts are the best. Love that lace on Beths box 😉

    Teresa

  2. Lindsay says:

    Hi Missy
    What a great idea to exchange gifts with your sister and her family. Looks like all your beautiful family had a wonderful day and all the gifts you exchanged are so special.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Lindsay

  3. Andrea says:

    What a lovely idea! great photos too, looks like everyone had a lot of fun.

  4. Jeanne says:

    Oh what fun! And what a great idea for family and friends! You have a wonderful family, Missy.

  5. val says:

    what a WONDERFUL day and a sweet idea to share the day with your sister and her kids.
    We do Valentine’s day with our children too…….. 🙂

  6. Beth Miller says:

    We did have a wonderful day!! Thanks, Missy, for being such an amazing sister!
    <3<3<3
    Beth

Leave a Reply

