Doll Clothes Swap


 For the Doll Clothes Swap,  we each made 2 outfits and sent them to two different people.  (not necessarily receiving from the same two people). 

babydoll-present

I made an outfit for a 16″  “Bitty Baby” (AG) doll and sent it to Susannah (the host of the swap!)  My doll is modeling the peach gown and blanket I made.

peach-doll-set1

I hand embroidered a pretty off-white floral design on the chest of the gown and added lace to the hem, sleeves, and blanket edge.

 peach-doll-set-2

~*~*~AND~*~*~

I made an outfit for Jenna’s 16″ Fisher Price My Friend doll from the eighties.  my model is a doll that I got for one of my daughters from Gymboree a few years ago.

 floral-doll-dress

I used ribbon ties to close the back of the dress so it would be adjustable for Jenna’s doll.  Hmm, maybe next time I’ll use netting for the ties so she will look like a little pixie!

floral-doll-dress-sidefloral-doll-dress-back

~~~~~~~~~~and here’s what I got back!~~~~~~~~~~

Christy at Sew Much Fabric, Sew Little Time sent me not one, but TWO 18″ doll outfits and some supplies for making more doll clothes !!!

Pants and shirt, and a dress!

   

my daughter’s dolls are modeling the clothes.   

Doll clothes supplies:  fabric, tiny pom-pom trim, ribbon, buttons, elastic, ribbon rosettes, and lace rosettes.

 

~*~*~AND~*~*~

Jenna  sent me a knitted  top/dress.   Imagine all the work that went into knitting this!  Since I can’t knit, it was so fun to receive something back that I wouldn’t be able to do myself!

 

If anybody else out there wants to swap an sewn doll outfit for a knitted one, please leave a comment on this post!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 Thanks to Susannah  for hosting such a fun swap!

 Sign Up Now!

Susannah is hosting another doll clothes swap if anyone would like to sign up to make 2 outfits  for 18″ American Girl type dolls.   for more info, click on the picture below…

doll_swap_

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in doll clothes and accessories, swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Doll Clothes Swap

  1. Mom says:

    Once again your exquisite work takes my breath away. I love the heirloom doll dress and what a delightful dress with ribbons to tie – how creative. They are such works of art and look adorable on their models.

  2. Beth Miller says:

    Wow! That Bitty Baby dress is an heirloom! So beautiful.

  3. Lindsay says:

    Hi Missy
    I really enjoyed seeing all these doll outfits. They are all gorgeous. My favorite is the peach gown and blanket you made and I also love the knitted cardigan. What a fun swap to be part of.
    Have a great weekend.
    Lindsay

  4. Christy C says:

    I’m so glad you liked the doll clothes! They really do look quite cute!!

  5. Wow, those doll clothes are just darling!

  6. Carrie B. says:

    I love the idea of a swap. I know a little chrochet, but not enough to confidently make an outfit…However, I do sew fairly well. The outfits shown are precious! I started making 18″ doll clothes for my daughter’s AG doll when she got one for Christmas and I’ve been having a blast. It would be nice to have a couple of outfits that I didn’t sew.

Leave a Reply

