Fairy Doll


I appologize for being MIA the past 2 weeks.  I’ve been down with seasonal allergies, and now 3 of my little girls have the flu (the kind that lasts a week)  so I ‘ve not felt like posting much.  I have gotten up to date with all the swaps that I just can’t resist signing up for, and the fairy dolls I’m making are being worked on today.  Sorry, this is not a sneak peek for my swap partners! 

For all you wonderfull swappers that signed up for my Fae/Pixies swaps, I now have a flickr group for you to post your pictures.

************************************************

fairy-in-strawberry

When I was a kid, summertime meant that my siblings and cousins took turns visiting my Oma and Opa for a week or two all by ourself.  (no parents!)   When it was my turn, my Oma always made me a new outfit and helped me sew a new toy.  When I was about 12, I wanted to make a fairy doll.  Oma pulled out a box that had doll bodyparts in it and I picked which doll I wanted to finish.  I stuffed the limbs, sewed them onto the body, sewed the fur hair on, and drew a tiny face.  Then Oma helped me make a wardrobe for her! 

We started with lace underclothes… the dainty spiderweb look.

fairy-doll

My favorite color was blue, so she needed a blue dress… we made the wings out of netting and used a strait pin to attach them to her back.

fairy-doll-blue-dress

since she was born in the forest, a foresty green dress and cape was a must.  The cape is hidden in a safe place and as soon as I find it I’ll add it to this post.

fairy-doll-green-dress 

My fairy turned out to be a fairy princess  so she needed a silver rick-rack crown and white dress.  The picture on the top of this post is me wearing my new outfit, and my fairy friend was just coming to play with me after attending a royal ball at the castle.  Ahhh, the imagination of a child! 

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in doll clothes and accessories, dolls. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fairy Doll

  1. teresa says:

    I love that! Grandma’s make for some of the best memories. It’s wonderful that you still have that doll.

  2. Mom says:

    How sweet! I do not remember this picture or dress or doll at all. Isn’t it interesting that all of Oma’s grandchildren have magical memories that have blessed their lives in so many ways. ❤

  3. Denise says:

    What magical memories!

  4. Jenny says:

    That is so wonderful I bet you had such an amazing childhood with your Oma and made lovely memories.

  5. Lindsay says:

    Thanks for sharing your beautiful doll. She is gorgeous and so special. I am sure she holds so many lovely memories from your childhood.
    Lindsay

  6. Jeanne says:

    How Sweetly Enchanting!

  7. Jeanne says:

    I hope you and the girls are all feeling much better.

Leave a Reply

