Happy May Day!


May first is my Mom’s birthday.   How wonderful to be born on the day we celebrate spring by leaving little baskets of flowers on the neighbor’s doorsteps!  (I did this when I was a child… did  you?) 

 For many years my Mom didn’t realize how creative she is.  Believe me, she is very creative!  There’s been many summers, when I was young, that she would plan all kinds of fun activities to keep her  little girls happy.  I remember making soap,  painting or sewing Christmas ornaments, canning peaches, doing aerobics…  just to name a few…  She would make matching Christmas dresses for us too.

(I’ll try to scan a picture or two so you can see her creations,  and I’ll update this later)

Mom has recently begun to see her creativeness through my eyes.  What a wonderful thing to happen!   She’s been teaching piano for years which is a very creative thing to do.  She has participated in a few holiday swaps with me where she has come up with some amazing crafty things, she is getting better at cooking,  she takes great photos… 

Well, today we had quite the scare when she suddenly couldn’t move, her speach was slurred, her heart was racing, etc… my sister rushed over to my parents house and the paramedics came.  they took her to the hospital.  it turns out that her body went into some sort of a diabetic insulin shock, so the doctors gave her an insulin shot.  She’s doing lots better now and just feels weak from the shock her body went through today.

All of this made me appreciate her even more.   I love you mom!

<3…<3…<3

Now some of you may be wondering what I’ll be up to this month… 

  1. sending the cutest Annie doll to my swap partner
  2. swapping May Day baskets with family
  3. packing, moving, unpacking, etc…  we are moving across town in just 2 weeks!  the new house and neighborhood is so beautiful!  We’ll be renting, but in this market it is just sooo worth it. 

 

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy May Day!

  1. Lori says:

    MIssy- I am sorry that your Mom had such a scare- and on her birthday, too! Oh my! I am so glad that everything turned out alright.

    Your new house is gorgeous! Moving is the pits, but I know that you are excited about starting fresh in your new nest!:) Lori

  2. sylviabee says:

    Thank you my sweet and precious daughter. What an adorable clip art and memory of may baskets, etc. I have so much to be grateful for! The breath of life is fragile and so are the moments of each day. You are dearly loved by me!!!!Mom

  3. Lindsay says:

    Hi Missy
    Sorry to hear your Mom was taken ill on her birthday. I pray that she continues to improve. She sounds a very talented crafter – just like you. What special childhood memories you will have of the happy times you spent making things with her. I would love to see the pictures.
    Good luck with the packing and the move.
    Lindsay

  4. How is the move going Missy?

Leave a Reply

