Pink Saturday {A Work In Progress}


This is my first quilt top I ever made.

WIP amadeus quilt

I’ve had this quilt top done for a year now.  Are you wondering why I haven’t quilted it yet?  I’m a little intimidated by it!  I want it to be perfect, something I’ve done myself.  and I really don’t want criticizm. 

I used the Amadeus pattern and used 3 Sisters “memories” fabric.  I love, love, love how pretty it is! (so far) lots of pink, blue, yellow, green, and white.

As you can see, it fits perfectly on top of my queen sized bed.   except for the fact that it doesn’t hang down long enough on the sides and the foot.  It would be fine if I was the only person sleeping in the bed but I have a hubby and I would end up with no blankets if we used this little one.    lol.

so does anyone know why quilt patterns have perfectly square dimensions?   Why don’t the pattern makers make them to fit a bed?  

***

Now for a little update on my shop

I’ve added Martha Stewart clear stamps in 4 different styles

MS clear dinner party stamps MS clear stamps1 MS clear stamps2 2ms number stamps

an heirloom baby dress pattern

bestembroideredbabyclothes

and two PINK Sew Beautiful magazines.

sewbeautiful83  sewbeautiful122

AND I’m offering free shipping on everything in my shop this week if you  mention Pink Saturday 🙂

♥ ♥ ♥

   for more pink goodness, go visit our host Beverly @ How Sweet the Sound.

bps

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in Pink Saturday, quilts, shop news. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pink Saturday {A Work In Progress}

  1. Great job on your first quilt top. Pattern designers often intentionally work in Square dimensions as it’s easier to write patterns, cut out and sew that way. Square tops can be used as wall hangings, table toppers and King bed covers. Many designers will include additional instructions for adapting the square to bed sizes by adding a rows and borders for standard and custom size bed covers. So maybe you could add a border to accomodate your queen size bed. How do I know all this stuff….besides being a vintage collector, I’m also a Professional Quilt Designer and LongArm Machine Quilter. Come see me at CollectInTexas Gal….Happy Quilting and Pink Saturday….Sue

  2. Nancy says:

    That is such a wonderful quilt. I can relate to unfinished projects!

    Happy Pink Saturday!

  3. sylviabee says:

    Love your quilt! I’ve never seen it…..Criticism???No way!!! You’re amazing.

  4. Llyn M says:

    ♥´¨)
    ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*´¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•´♥ HAPPY PINK SATURDAY ♥

  5. Charlotte says:

    You should go for it, do it yourself, be proud of the gorgeous work you did and enjoy it. Your quilt is so pretty, you know there is no such thing as perfection, it’s only what you perceive, Happy Pink Saturday and happy quilting, Char

  6. Jen says:

    great quilt top!!! Can’t wait to see it finished!

  7. Leann says:

    I think the quilt top is beautiful – you made it with your own 2 hands – be proud! I’m in awe.

    If you have the time, please stop by The Old Parsonage. I love company!

    Enjoy your PS.
    Leann

  8. peggy gatto says:

    Your quilt is a beauty!!!!

  9. Mary says:

    I think your quilt will be lovely when it’s finished. Have a wonderful weekend.

  10. Mimi says:

    When the blossoms of summer begin to fade we can always count on Pink Saturday to bring a smile to our faces and to remind us that somewhere there are pastels and pretty things.

    Thanks so much for sharing this week. I wish you sunshine and lollipops today and always.

  11. Lindsay says:

    Hi Missy
    Your quilt looks gorgeous. Quilting is something I would like to take up again. It’s years since I did any.
    Happy Pink Saturday.
    Lindsay
    x

  12. Suzie Button says:

    Hi Missy, I love your quilt! I must admit, I don’t really know how to “finish” a quilt, I’ve only done small wall quilts and just sewed in the ditch and would love to take a course, but have no time to! I’ll have to check out your shop, you’re growing obviously! Happy PS! Suzie

  13. Your quilt top is beautiful. I hope you do finish it. Then you can show it off on your bed!
    Have a wonderful Pink weekend!

  14. It’s lovely!! I’m intimidated by quilting, too! I don’t know anything about sewing though, and you are a superb seamstress! 😀

  15. Hi, Missy,
    Love, love, love you pretty quilt top. The colors are perfect together. Thank you for sharing and Happy Pink Saturday! Vicki

  16. What a lovely quilt topper. Maybe in the Olden Days they made the bed to fit the quilt? Or expected everyone to add their borders to size? I guess the squares were easier to make and share in quilting bees etc… or pass the instructions for the blocks on, and maybe they would be drawn on squared or graph paper?

    Happy Pink Saturday!

  17. Terri G. says:

    That is one amazing quilt. That’s what I have not tried to make one ..everything has to line up just right. Terrific job.

  18. I love your quilt top!! Very nice job!

Leave a Reply

