Pink Saturday {Katherine’s Blessing Gown and Bonnet}


646275_f260

My sister Hanne sent me a couple pictures of what she had in mind for the dress and bonnet.  this shows how I put these ideas on a board above my sewing machine so I can create the closest thing to what my customers (or…  my family) want me to make for them.  I was stressed for time when making this one.  I also was having a gallbladder attack at the same time, otherwise I would’ve been able to get it done before my deadline.

k idea

As it turned out, my other sister (Beth) had to embroider the floral designs on the skirt, and sew the buttonholes for me.  I’m so grateful that she was able to finish it up for me!  Even though, it didn’t make me feel any better about not getting it completely done before my family picked the dress up on their way to travel 5 hours to Hanne’s house.

k hem

Here’s the hem of the dress.  At least I got the tucks done!

 

*notice that my beautiful niece is laying on a pink heirloom blanket I made when her sister was a baby!

 

~Katherine~

Katherine5

 Katherine3

Katherine2

Katherine 4

Katherine1

Katherine hanne

Hanne gave me the biggest compliment… she said that the dress is exactly what she was imagining!

 

I hand smocked and hand embroidered the dress bodice.  The bonnet is hand embroidered, has a self ruffle, and is completely lined.

would you have guessed that I used an Egyption cotton sheet ???

 

thank you to our wonderful host Beverly @ How Sweet the Sound  for another Pink Saturday!

bps

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in GIRL Blessing/Christening/ Dedication/baby Baptism, Pink Saturday. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pink Saturday {Katherine’s Blessing Gown and Bonnet}

  1. meg says:

    She is so adorable!

  2. Jorgelina says:

    Happy pink saturday!!
    She is so adorable!
    Hugs

  3. Connie says:

    What a beautiful little doll, honey! And that egyptian cotton dress will be soft on her tender skin. Great job!
    xoxo,
    COnnie

  4. Claudia says:

    Absolutely exquisite! You are amazingly talented. That dress is destined to be such a beautiful heirloom. Happy Pink Saturday!

  5. CC says:

    Oh my gosh!!!!!!!!! Gorgeous,beautiful..surely there must be more words to describe this tiny sweet dress. The sweet dress and bonnet are just simply beyond gorgeous. Happy Pinks and have a lovely weekend.

  6. Mary says:

    What a beautiful child. The dress will become an instant heirloom, You are very skilled with a needle. I hope you are having a wonderful Pink Saturday.

  7. caren says:

    So beautiful and you can tell made from the heart. Happy Pink Saturday!

  8. Charlotte says:

    That my sweet blogging buddy is gorgeous. Isn’t is amazing what we can do with sheets. What a keepsake to be handed down for generations, Happy Pink Saturday, Char

  9. Nancy says:

    What a lovely dress obviously made with love for the precious little girl. (Still on my Pink Saturday rounds. Have a great week!)

  10. Hanne says:

    Thanks! Thanks! Thanks!!!!!

  11. gardenmama says:

    Very talented sisters you are!!
    I can’t get over the handwork alone, incredible!
    What a little doll : ) I love the sweet bonnet!
    Many warm wishes!

  12. It’s so nice that you can make people’s special days SO special with your gorgeous gowns. Very beautiful baby and gown Missy!!

    Sherry

Leave a Reply

