Texas Sheet Cake Recipe


I wanted to share my recipe so you can make it for all your Memorial Day Weekend celebrations!  Enjoy!

Missy’s Texas Sheet Cake

 Cake
Mix together and set aside:
2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
 
Melt 2 sticks (16 Tbsp) of butter.
 
Add to melted butter and microwave for 1 minute:
4 Tablespoons cocoa
1 cup water
 
Add:
½ cup buttermilk
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
and then mix together with dry ingredients.
 
Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes
 
 
Frosting
Make the frosting 5 minutes before you take the cake from the oven.  If you put the hot frosting onto the hot cake, it will melt down into the cake making it extra moist and yummy
 
1 stick (8 Tbsp) butter, melted
 
Add to melted butter and microwave for 1 minute:
4 Tablespoons cocoa
6 Tablespoons buttermilk
 
Add 1 teaspoon vanilla
3 ½ cups powdered sugar
*optional: 1 cup finely chopped nuts.
 
 
{how to make buttermilk}:
1 teaspoon vinegar, fill up the remaining measurement with milk.
About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Texas Sheet Cake Recipe

  1. elizabeth says:

    Oh this sound yummy! Do you know if I can do the micorwave steps on the stove top? We don’t have a microwave.

  2. Lindsay says:

    Hi Missy
    Looks delicious and so easy to make. thanks for sharing the recipe. I’ll give it a try.
    Have a great weekend.
    Lindsay
    x

  3. Lori says:

    Mmmmmm! I know how yummy it is!:) Lori

Leave a Reply

