Alexandria


Hanne, my sister, had a little girl after 3 boys.  We all were quite excited about it and I got started on the blessing dress ideas as soon as Hanne found out she was having a girl.   I had so much fun making this dress!  The silk was so luxurious that I got carried away and made it into a Christening gown length! This dress is a true heirloom.

Silk twill fabric. machine pin-tucks and hand embroidered french knots on yoke. hand smocked across front and hand embroidered bullion roses across smocking;  lace on neck, sleeves, and hem; scalloped pintuck and hand embroidered bullion roses on hemline.

hand embroidered bullion roses made with pink silk embroidery floss, leaves done in green silk embroidery floss

close-up of smocking and roses on bodice

hem of gown.  machine stitched scalloped pin-tuck.  Hand embroidered bullion roses made with pink silk embroidery floss and leaves embroidered with green silk embroidery floss, white french knots embroidered with white silk embroidery floss.

close-up of hem embroidery

close-up of bullion rose on hem

Here’s the gown in all it’s glory!  sorry the picture is blurry, it’s the best the camera could do.

Alexandria in her beautiful long gown.

About Missy

I'm a wife to an awesome Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons! I love to sew. I learned to sew in 4H, and from my Oma while staying with her for a week or two in the summers as a young girl. I love to bake desserts. I would love to live on lots of land and own lots of animals. I've always been drawn to nature which has lead me towards a more natural and healthy lifestyle which I'm finally trying to bring back into my life, and those precious lives around me.
This entry was posted in baby girl, embroidery, GIRL Blessing/Christening/ Dedication/baby Baptism, smocking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

