Pants Cuff Purse


This purse is so easy that a child could make it. Really it’s just made by cutting the cuff off of a pair of pants, sewing together the cut edge, and sewing a ribbon on for a strap…  I made this into a tutorial for the kids.

If you make one of these, I would love to see it!  I’ve set up a flickr group for everyone to show-n-tell what y’all make from my tutorials!

pants-purse

step 1

find  cute pair of worn out pants. these have huge holes in the knees.

pants

Step 2

make a straight cut (below the worn out knee) the length you’d like your purse to be.

cut-pants

Step 3

turn inside out and sew together the cut edge. I surged it but you can do a straight stich.

make-seam

Step 4

sew a lenth of ribbon on  for the strap.

sew-on-strap

Enjoy your new purse or give them as gifts!  My 5 year old daughter is showing the one that she just made!

felicity-purse

About Melissa

I'm a wife to an Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons. I'm a student specializing in family history research; world traveler; creator of fanciful spaces (home decor), baby clothes, and baked treats; believer of Christ... I belong to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pants Cuff Purse

  1. Beth Miller says:

    I love it!!What a great idea!

  2. sylvia says:

    Adorable!!!!!

  3. Denise says:

    OH MY!!! What a fabulous idea!!!! And your daughter looks adorable modeling it 🙂

  4. Your girls look like angels.

    the purse is cute too.

    Teresa

  5. Anne says:

    Great idea for using the leftover pants legs!! I posted a link to your tutorial on Craft Gossip Sewing Blog: http://sewing.craftgossip.com/tutorial-simpl…m-a-pants-cufftutorial-simple-bag-from-a-pants-cuff/2009/03/19/
    –Anne

  6. kimberlee says:

    You’re brilliant!

Leave a comment