Pixie Pouch Tutorial


pixie-bag

Supplies:

  1. pouch fabric/lining fabric: 20″x7″ rectangle (each); circle of fabric (each) using a jar, cup, or ribbon spool for the circle template.
  2. 20″ of wide lace insertion
  3. 20″ of ribbon for strap

supplies1

Step 1

place fabric and lining fabric right sides together, sewing one edge lengthwise using a 1/4″ seam allowance 

step-1

Step 2

 fold and iron the seam and then open it back out to allow yourself to sew gathering threads on the two long edges. (sew gathering stitches now)

step-2

Step 3

fold the remaining two edges together and sew, leaving a small opening (between the two arrows)

leave-opening-for-turning

fold and mark the four opposite edges on both circles…

step3a

and the pouch edges. this makes it easier to pin the circles to the gathered edges resulting in a more even gather.

step-3b

Step 4

pin, pull up gathering threads, and sew together on the bag fabric and lining fabric.

step-4

Step 5

pull the pouch through the opening and then stitch opening closed.

(this picture shows how small the opening is.)

step-5

stuff the lining down into the pouch… here is what the pouch should look like at this point.

step-5a

Step 6

fold lace under 1/4″ on cut edge and pin along the top edge starting at the  seam line.

step-6a

 pin lace all the way around the pouch until you reach the seam line again.  fold other cut edge of lace the same as before.

step-6

Step 7

turn inside out to make it easier to sew.  sew both edges of the lace leaving the opening free at the seam line.

step-7astep-7b

Step 8

now you are ready to thread the ribbon through the lace.

attach one end of the ribbon to a small safety pin

step-8a

push the safetypin through the opening at the seam…

step-8b

until it pops out the other side.

step-8c

tie the two ends of the ribbon together and you are done!

step-8d

pull the ribbon to cinch the opening closed.

pixie-bag

 voila!  you just made a pixie pouch!

if you have any questions, just ask!

If you make one of these, I would love to see it!  I’ve set up a flickr group for everyone to show-n-tell what y’all make from my tutorials!

for personal use only, please.

About Melissa

I'm a wife to an Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons. I'm a student specializing in family history research; world traveler; creator of fanciful spaces (home decor), baby clothes, and baked treats; believer of Christ... I belong to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in crafts, project ideas, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pixie Pouch Tutorial

  1. Denise says:

    Too cute!!!! Now if only I could sew 🙂

  2. AwtemNymf says:

    Fab tutorial Missy! Woohoo *claps*
    I have that very same fabric too! “O)
    I will give this a shot when I’m at the sewing machine again (soon)!
    These instructions look easy to follow! I love how you interlock the string INSIDE the lace. Genius!
    Thanks for posting this tutorial. I can’t wait to give this a try!
    Thank you!
    ~A~

  3. Lynn O'Brien says:

    That looks like a fun swap – thanks maybe I’ll join along. The tutorial for the dishcloths were at http://www.crazymomquilts.blogspot.com on September18.
    I used waffleweave muslin – I found it at Joann’s with the muslins.

  4. Great tutorial and the bag turned out really cute!

    Thanks for sharing Missy!
    Sherry

  5. Soo says:

    Oooh I am a ditz…you said “place fabric and lining fabric wrong sides together, sewing one edge lengthwise using a 1/4″ seam allowance ” so I did…it should have been RIGHT sides together hehe!! =)

  6. JenW!~ says:

    just found your blog. This is very cute. I have to make a B-day gift for a 5yr old girl this would be a great idea. thanks for posting it.

  7. val says:

    Thanks for the tutorial….mine turned out so cute!

  8. Sandy says:

    oh my gosh oh my gosh! I did it!
    I made a pixie bag!!! *happy dance*
    the bottom isn’t perfect, but hey this was my 1st one! I am so proud! 🙂
    I’ll show you a pic in the morning!Woohoo! Thank you Missy!

  9. LOVE it!!! We need some pixie pouches here at the Toadstool!!!
    xo maureen

Leave a comment