Fairy Doll Tutorial


pink-fairy

Step 1

pick a picture to make into a doll.  (I used a picture of my great-grandmother, Isabelle “Belle” Melissa)  scan it onto your computer and print it with your inkjet printer onto computer fabric.  I used a prepackaged colorfast fabric sheet (like this)

step-1

Step 2

on the backside, outline the part of the picture you want to be the doll.  I held it up to a sunny window to see it better.

step-2

Step 3

embroider a wand using silk ribbon

step-3

Step 4

carefully pin (right sides together) around the doll outline, to fabric that you chose for the back.  DO NOT cut around the doll yet!  Stitch along the doll outline. make sure you leave an opening for turning.

step-4

Step 5

trim around the doll and clip to make turning easier.

step-5

Step 6

Make a base for the doll so she can stand. 

mark the base fabric where the seams are and draw an oval shape to cut out…

step-6

I used a ribbon spool to use as my template.

step-6a

carefully pin right sides together to the bottom of doll.  stich with a 1/4″ seam.

step-6b

Step 7

turn the doll right side out.  I used a medical tool to turn it with, and a bamboo skewer to push the fabric into place…

step-7

Time to stuff your doll! 

put some glass gems in the base of the doll before stuffing.  slip stich the opening closed.

step7a

Step 8

Now you are ready to turn her into a fairy!

step-8

I sewed a shell button bird onto her hand, made her a crown from jewelry wire and beads, and tulle wings.

step-8a

I attached the wings by threading the tulle through the shank on a dragonflybutton, and then sewing it onto her back.

step-8b

If you make a doll using my tutorial,  I would love to see it!  I’ve set up a flickr group for everyone to show-n-tell what y’all make from my tutorials!

About Melissa

I'm a wife to an Army vet, and mother to four daughters and three step-sons. I'm a student specializing in family history research; world traveler; creator of fanciful spaces (home decor), baby clothes, and baked treats; believer of Christ... I belong to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in crafts, fairies, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fairy Doll Tutorial

  1. This is such a neat idea! I love that the picture was of one of your grandmothers, that makes it so special!

    Great tutorial Missy!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Sherry

  2. sylviabee says:

    So creative and beautiful! Love it! Want it!

  3. Okay, this is the coolest thing since slice bread… Thank you so much for sharing this with all of us…I’m going to try this over the weekend….I’ll let you know how I make out!
    Have a great day…
    Cheers!

  4. Anne says:

    This is such a cool idea!! Wouldn’t it be fun to make a whole set of dolls from your ancestors? I posted a link to your tutorial on Craft Gossip Sewing Blog:
    http://sewing.craftgossip.com/tutorial-fairy…antique-photostutorial-fairy-dolls-from-antique-photos/2009/04/01/
    (Link will be active after 12:23 am CST April 2)
    –Anne

  5. Rachel says:

    This is awesome! I love Anne’s idea for making the whole family. What a special doll or ornament. I’ll be linking to this if you don’t mind.

  6. Jeanne says:

    What a wonderful idea! Very clever! And another terrific tutorial!

  7. Marian says:

    Missy, I LOVE this!!!!!
    I have a picture of my grandmommy sitting down, maybe I should try this too. I don’t have the printer fabric (it is not available here) but will try another way of doing this.
    It is SO cute, thanks for this tutorial ♥♥

    Hugs from Marian

  8. This is such a clever way to make a doll! Thanks for giving such clear directions and pictures for the pattern.

Leave a comment